Auto Insurance Requirements Denver CO
April 2, 2014
According to the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) Division of Insurance:
“Automobile liability insurance is generally defined as coverage for bodily injury you cause to another person or for property damage you cause to another person’s property through negligent use of your vehicle. The minimum amount of liability insurance required by Colorado law is as follows:
1. $25,000 per person for bodily injury;
2. $50,000 per accident for bodily injury; and
3. $15,000 per accident for property damage
4. Additional coverage, such as medical payment coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, comprehensive and collision are available, but not required.
As of Jan. 1, 2009, Colorado requires mandatory “med-pay” coverage with all insurance policies. Consumers may refuse this coverage in writing.
Of course these are just the minimum, having more coverage can help if you are involved in an accident. Uninsured or under insured motorist coverage is still key. Insurance companies offer this coverage for a small amount. Some states such as Pennsylvania, Illinois, New York and Maryland require drivers to carry this insurance.
By your Accident Attorneys Denver CO -Bovo Law